DTU: Delhi Technological University

Delhi Technological University (DTU), formerly known as Delhi College of Engineering was established in the year 1941. The main aim of the institute is to cater the needs of Indian industries for trained technical manpower with practical experience and sound theoretical knowledge. 

Delhi College of Engineering was set up at the historic Kashmere Gate campus as a follow up of the Wood and Abott Committee of 1938. It comprised of a multi disciplinary and multi level institution offering wide ranging programmes in engineering, technology, arts and sculpture, architecture, pharmacy and commerce.
The institution awarded national diploma which was recognized as equivalent to degree level for the purposes of employment. The college was affiliated with University of Delhi in the year 1952 and started formal Degree level Programmes. The department of Arts and Sculpture became College of Arts, the department of Architecture later became the School of Planning and Architecture which is now a Deemed University and an institution of National importance. The departments of Chemical Technology and Textile Technology were shifted out en-block to mark beginning of the IIT Delhi at its new campus at Hauz Khas. The department of commerce was later abolished and the faculty of management studies of the University of Delhi was established by Prof. A Das Gupta, of DCE. Delhi College of Engineering is thus the mother institution of a number of national projects including IITD, SPA, College of Arts and even the famous FMS.

The college was under the direct control of Ministry of Education, Government of India, till the year 1962. In 1963, the administration of the college was handed over to Delhi Administration. Delhi College of Engineering was under the administrative control of Department of Technical Education & Training, Govt. of NCT of Delhi. For academic purposes, the college was affiliated to University of Delhi since 1952. From July 2009, the DCE has become Delhi Technological University vide Delhi act 6 of 2009.

The erstwhile DCE has functioned from its historic Kashmere Gate Campus for almost 55 years and has shifted in 1996 to its lush green sprawling campus of 164 Acres at Bawana Road, adjoining Sector-17, Rohini, Delhi-42. Its shifting to new campus has added the dimension of research and caused innovations in plenty, which has received high national and international acclaim. As a Delhi Technological University it has the desired autonomy to excel and shape itself as a world class Technological University.

  1. EDUSAT Hub
  2. Central Library
  3. Computer Centre
  4. Knowlege Park
  5. Banking & Mail
  6. Hostels
  7. Guest House
  8. Gymnasium
  9. Health Center

Delhi Technological University Departments

  1. Applied Chemistry
  2. Applied Mathematics
  3. Applied Physics
  4. Biotechnology
  5. Civil Engineering
  6. Computer Science & Engg.
  7. Delhi School of Management
  8. Electronics & Communication
  9. Electrical Engineering
  10. Environment Engineering
  11. Humanities
  12. Information Technology
  13. Mechanical Engineering
  14. Design
  15. University School of Management & Entrepreneurship

Delhi Technological University Courses

B.Tech Courses

The following courses offered for the Bachelor of Technology Degree under Delhi Technological University.
  1. Electronics & Communication Engineering (ECE)
  2. Computer Engineering (COE)
  3. Mechanical Engineering (ME) 
  4. Electrical Engineering (EE)
  5. Production & Industrial Engineering (PIE)
  6. Civil Engineering (CE)
  7. Environmental Engineering (ENE)
  8. Polymer Science & Chemical Technology (PCT)
  9. Information Technology (IT)
  10. Bio-Technology (BT)
  11. Software Engineering (SE)
  12. Electrical and Electronics Engineering (EEE)
  13. Mechanical Engineering with specialization in Automotive Engineering (MAM)
  14. Engineering Physics (EP) 
  15. Mathematics and Computing (MC)
M.Tech Courses
The following courses offered for the Master of Technology(M.Tech)- Full Time Degree under Delhi Technological University.
  1. Applied Chemistry
    • Polymer Technology

  2. Applied Physics
    • Nano Science & Technology
    • Nuclear Science & Engineering

  3. Bio-Technology
    • Bio-Informatics

  4. Computer Engineering
    • Computer Science & Engineering
    • Software Engineering

  5. Civil Engineering
    • Structure Engineering
    • Environment Enginnering
    • Hydraulic & Flood Engineering
    • Geotechnical Engineering

  6. Electronics & Communication Engineering
    • Signal Processing & Digital Design
    • Microwave & Optical Communication
    • VLSI Design & Embedded system

  7. Electrical Engineering
    • Control & Instrumentatio Engineering
    • Power system
    • VLSI Design & Embedded system

  8. Information Technology
    • Information Technology

  9. Mechanical Engineering
    • Thermal Engineering
    • Production Engineering
    • Computational Design
    • Renewable Energy Technology
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D)

Electrical / Electronics & Communication / Computer Engineering Departments: Electrical Machines and Drives, Power Systems, Control Systems, Power Electronics, Microwave Communication, DSP, Micro electronics Devises, VLSI/Fault-Tolerant Computing. 

Mechanical Engineering: Thermal Engineering, I C Engines, Turbo-machinery, Stress Analysis, Fluid Mechanics, Metal Forming and Foundry Technology, Industrial and Technology Management, Flexible Manufacturing and Automation. 

Civil Engineering: Structural Engg., Structural Dynamics, Earthquake Engg. Water Resources Engg., Environmental Engg, Experimental Machinics. 

Applied Physics: Material Science & Superconductivity, Thin-films, Fibre optics and Optical communication and Quantum electronics. 

Applied Chemistry: Polymer Science & Technology, Material Science and Polymer Composites, Ion-exchange, Electro Chemistry, Chemical Themodynamics. 

Applied Mathematics: Graph Theory, Information Theory, Numerical Simulation, Number Theory and Combinatorics, Relativistic Cosmological Models, Algebra, Approximation Theory. 

Humanities: Applied Economics, Engineering Economics, Labour Market Analysis, Techno-Economics Impact of Education.

Bachelor of Technology (Evening)
  1. Electronics & Communication Engineering (ECE) 
  2. Mechanical Engineering (ME) 
  3. Electrical Engineering (EE) 
  4. Civil Engineering (CE) 
  5. Information Technology (IT)

Delhi Technological University Application Process

All the eligible candidates will be able to apply for Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Delhi through Joint Admission Counseling and GATE. For PhD Programs, candidates should have cleared UGC - National Eligibility Test.

DTU Contact Details

Delhi Technological University
Shahbad Daulatpur, Main Bawana Road
Website: www.dtu.ac.in

Connect me with the Top Colleges